John 9:7-9 (NLT): They kept demanding an answer, so he stood up again and said, “All right, but let the one who has never sinned throw the first stone!” Then he stooped down again and wrote in the dust. When the accusers heard this, they slipped away one by one, beginning with the oldest, until only Jesus was left in the middle of the crowd with the woman.

Jesus dealt with the crowd who accused and condemned the woman caught in adultery.

While it was a setup for the woman because the man caught with her was not brought for accusation, we can reason that she was also guilty of the alleged crime. We do not have details, but people are not much different throughout history. Illicit love, side-hook-ups, and relationships outside of marriage have been practiced for years and years. It is still and always will be — sin.

Jesus addressed the accusers. Let him “without sin” cast the first stone. Today, too many believe they are are free to do what they want without having to deal with the consequences of their wrongful accusations, lies, or false setups. In other words, they feel they are sinless or are excused. Not one of the woman’s accusers could rightfully stand before Jesus and say – “because I am pure, I can accuse her of sin that.” They could not say, “I will stone her because I am not guilty of any sin.”

There are so many accusations and mean epithets being hurled on social media today. Imagine that each accusation, blame, lie, setup you let loose on social media is a rock. If Jesus asked you – would you be able to look him in the eye and say you are worthy/qualified to throw that rock? The rock thrower should be the one without any sin, correct? Put that rock down. Confess. Repent. Change your accusations to prayers. Pray for those you think are wrong.

Prayer: God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit take this rock from my hand. Take these wrong accusations from my mind. Help me to adopt the right attitude towards those I think are wrong. I ask You Lord to bless them. I ask You Lord to use them for Your glory, in a manner that will show their alignment with Your word, Your Love and bear Your fruit. I ask, in the name of Jesus, that you to forgive me for trying to cast the first stone, out of fear, out of frustration, out of twisted hopes. Thank You for being my defender and for having others put down their rocks. Amen.