Galatians 5:16–18 (NLT): So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves. The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are the opposite of what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, so you are not free to carry out your good intentions. But when you are directed by the Spirit, you are not under obligation to the law of Moses.

When it comes time for my ten-month-old grandson to eat, he must be fed where there are as few distractions as possible because, as soon as he hears something, he jerks his head to see what he’s missing. As I watch my daughter try to quiet her son so he can be nourished, it strikes me how much like him we can be!

Here is the second of three ways that seemingly little distractions can have a great impact:

2. Worldly distractions can keep us from growing and living according to the life-giving truths of the gospel.

Paul prayed that the young church in Colossae would be filled with the knowledge of God’s will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding so they could walk in a manner worthy of the Lord. This would require them to say no to whatever distracted them from seeking Christ above all else.

We must do the same, dealing decisively with anything that pulls us away from what’s supremely important — knowing Christ. I find the battle is ongoing as I strive to keep good things in their proper place, such as smart phones, Internet, entertainment, Facebook, Twitter, exercise, work, children and grandchildren, home repairs, meal preparation, laundry, being occupied with worldly affairs, and so on. 

Even things that are very good must not keep us from what is best for our souls.

Jesus, who lived in perfect communion with His Father from hour to hour, was not easily pulled off track. Nothing rattled our Savior. Nothing kept Him from the work He had come to do. Jesus was:

  • Always busy, but never in a rush.
  • Full of compassion, but never overwhelmed by the vast needs.

God calls us to a life where distractions fade and His voice becomes the One we listen to first and foremost . . .

  • When we feel like we can make sense of nothing. And when everything seems to be falling into place.

This is the life God calls us to as He weans us from the world’s counterfeits of peace, joy, strength, and security.

Are there any worldly distractions you need to repent of and put aside in order to seek the Lord? Adapted from Revive Our Hearts

Prayer: Father God in heaven, I confess that in my weakness, I can be tempted to fill my time, my mind, my actions with things that can harm my soul with the things of this world rather than the gospel. Please help me to walk by the Spirit so I will not gratify the desires of the flesh, which keep me from doing the things I truly want to do! I want to live for You and with You. Help me to identify and recognize those things that will interfere with my eternity. I pray in the Spirit and give Thanks in Truth, in the name of the one who was always busy, but never in a hurry, Jesus Christ, Amen.