Isaiah 58:11: The LORD shall guide thee continually . . .

Thought for the Day: Continual Guidance

Reflection for the Day: If we abstain from self-will, then He will direct every step

What ails you? Have you lost your way? Are you entangled as if you were in the dark woods and cannot find your path? Stand still, and see the salvation of God. He knows the way, and He will direct you in it if you cry out to Him.

Every day brings its own perplexity. How sweet to feel that the guidance of the LORD is continual! If we choose our own way or consult with flesh and blood we cast away the LORD’s guidance. If we abstain from self-will, redirect from doing it our own way, then He will direct every step of our road, every hour of the day, and every day of the year, and every year of our life. If we will allow ourselves to be guided. If we will commit our way unto the LORD, He will direct our course so that we will not lose our way, our vision, or ourselves.

But note to whom this promise is made. Read the verse before today’s (Is 58:10) : “If thou draw out thy soul to the hungry and satisfy the afflicted soul.” We must feed others, feel for others and give to them. Do not give just a few dry crumbs, but things similar or equivalent to things that we ourselves would wish to receive. If we show tender care to those in the their hour of need, then the LORD will attend to our necessities and make Himself our continual Guide. Jesus is the Leader. He is not the leader of the miserly or the stingy. He is not the leader of those who oppress the poor. He is not the leader of those who walk under their own understanding. Jesus us the leader of the kind and tenderhearted. Such persons are pilgrims who will never miss their way because He is guiding continually.

Prayer: Father God in heaven, open my heart to be tender. Open my eyes to see those who truly are hurting and who are in need. Open my hand to freely give to others what I would like to receive for myself. I cry out to you Lord! Help me not be completely self-willed, self-serving, and self-directed, sucking the air out of every room and sucking the life out of all those around me. Open my mind, my heart, my wallet, my actions to give so that other will know and freely breathe in the life that is Christ coming through me. In Jesus name I pray and give thanks, Amen.

“A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.” Maya Angelou