Philippians 2:7: Yes, and if I am being poured out as a drink offering on the sacrifice and service of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all.

Thought: Drink Offering – Give the Task Away

Reflection: Not enough days in a week to do all of the things we want to do in serving him

Perhaps, our lives are a drink offering. From the time of Jacob, the Israelites would offer to God a drink offering. They took a portion of their best wine and poured it on the altar to the Lord. To spectators, it may have seemed a supreme waste, but God sees things through the lens of eternity. (Running from a Crazy Man)

God’s ways are not our ways. His thoughts are not our thoughts. But we try with all of our might to serve him and to do what we think he requires or what we think will be acceptable to Him.

There are times when we feel there is not enough time in a day. Not enough days in a week to do all of the things we want to do in serving him.

Is He really asking for that? Have you dedicated your time to him as if you are sacrificing that drink on the altar, with prayer, maybe some fasting, more prayer and serious consideration to apply His word to the works you are performing? If so then, rejoice as today’s word says. Allow your work to offered and also let it be viewed through His eyes. Is it just filling your calendar with busy-time work?

Pray it: Lord, Father in heaven. Direct me. Lead me. Hear my ideas and plans to do work I think you want from me. I will be silent now and allow my Spirit to calm so I can hear from you so I can be prepared by You to recognize the things you truly want me to do. Here Jesus, are all the things I decided were my responsibility to do. If You did not say that was my role, do not give these things back to me. . . fill me with joy that my service is a true drink offering to You and lead me forward according to Your will.. . in the Name of Jesus. Thank You.